EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

Roma!

Oh my god. Rome was amazing. I can’t really adequately put it in words. I’ll try though.

Going to Rome was our first trip together outside of Spain. Knowing that we had the GOLD, and the permission to re-enter the country was the most relieving and exciting thing ever.

We arrived in Rome  and were immediately blown away by the Rome-ness. This is the reason we moved to Madrid. We want to be able to go anywhere, any time, for not that much money. We chose Rome only because it was the cheapest flight that weekend, not really because we had Rome at the top of our travel list. Anyway, it was amazing. I hate touristy things, but Rome’s tourist traps are well-deserved. The Colosseum was spectacular  I can’t even tell you how beautiful St. Peter’s Basilica is, and the Panteon is a feat of engineering genius  The things we saw on postcards and on wikipedia before we left were there, in real life. So much beauty, age, importance, and history that we couldn’t properly take it all in.

We had a fabulous time. Both of us will tell you that our favorite part was the food tour that we took. With my previous experience working at Buca’s and the Mac Shack, I never considered the idea that Italian food was anything better than frozen ravioli. The moment that I tasted what brushetta is supposed to be, I literally, for real, cried a little bit. We had cannoli out of a picture book, ate gorgeous pizza, and learned about all the things we were missing in our previous lives. Black truffle, pecorino, out of this world tomatoes, tiramisu, hand made pasta, cheese!, and gelato that blew my mind. If you head to Rome, we highly recommend Eating Italy Food Tour.

I am thrilled that we had the opportunity to learn, see, do and be in Rome. I can’t wait to go back.

Highlights:

1) Colosseum- Margaux says it would be the world’s best place to play hide-and-seek. She’s right.

2) Some huge random church we went into- I say, “I could really go for a glass of the blood of Christ right now.” Margaux looks at me in shock and says, “Babe! You can’t fuckin’ say that! We are in church!”

3) Roman Ruins- Instead of being impressed, Margaux is pissed that our camera won’t take a good picture.

4) Trevi Fountain- RAD! Way bigger in real life.

5) The Vatican Museums- 2 hours in, and we had to take a break. Too many people, too many pieces of art. The Sistine Chapel (and Rick Steves’ podcast description of it) breaks our necks to look at and really is jaw-dropping.

6) St. Peter’s Basilica- We almost skipped it because we were tired and overwhelmed by amazing things already. But now I am SO glad we went in, it was my favorite thing. Gold, marble-y, Jesus-y and we even went into the crypts below to see the Popes’ tombs.

7) Hostels/B&B – We had a roommate in our hostel, and he was a Ph.D student from South Africa who was researching elephant fossils and elephant evolution. Huh. Bet you’ve never met an elephantologist before.  At our B&B, we had a lovely time having breakfast in bed and chatting with the owner.

8) Lots of Americans. Including one woman who said to us, “Houston, Texas!” and then told us how great it was to finally hear someone speak English. Huh?  We were at the Colosseum. At least half of the tourists there were speaking English.

9) Rick Steves. I’m in love. We took our Rick Steves Italian phrasebook, which was a big hit. He told us everything we needed to know: how to get around, what time dinner should be, how to ask for the right beverages, etc.  Our waiter/new BFF loved it when we loved the food and said, “Meglio della cucina di mia mamma.” Better than my mom’s cooking. (Sorry Mom.) He cracked up when we said, “Cosi buono che mi sono leccato anche i baffi.” So good I even licked my moustache.

10) Wandering around a little neighborhood finding cute little bars and restaurants to try out. The Christmas lights were out and there was a little frost in the air. Super romantic.

Rome was amazing.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Roma!

  1. Aaah… you’ve made me miss Roma so much! The magic, the history, the cobblestones, the gelato, the food! Roma, mi manche!

Tell us what you think!

