EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

This is what we are dealing with

Here is one of the emails I sent and the response I received from the Consulate of Spain in Los Angeles.  This one is my favorite, due to the vagueness of their answer.  The added emphasis is mine.

This is what I looked like when I wrote the email.

 

September 4, 2012

Hello,

My wife is currently living in Spain with her work visa. I have applied to be able to join her, and am wondering how long it might be. It is very difficult financially and emotionally to live apart from my wife, and we would like to be together in Spain as soon as possible. My NIV is: xxxxxxxx. 
 
I need some information so I can decide whether to come pick up my passport and go to Spain on a 90 day tourist visa and return to Los Angeles again once my visa is ready, or if I should continue to wait here in the USA. 
 
Please, can you tell me about how much longer I should expect to wait? Two weeks? 
 
Thank you for your time,
Jean
September 6, 2012
Miss L, 

This is what I looked like when I read the response

 
We are sorry, but your visa still pending of approval. We do not know exactly how much longer it will take. It could be a few more days, but it could also be another 3 months. So it is up to you, if you want to pick up your passport that is fine. Just remember that you can only be in Spain 90 days. If your visa is ready before you come back we will send you an email and you will have 30 days to come in person with your passport to pick up the visa.
 
Saludos cordiales,
Visa Department
Consulate General of Spain
5055 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 860
Los Angeles, CA 90036

What would you do?  ESCRAZY!

Single Post Navigation

Tell us what you think!

