EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

Oceans Apart

Good News: Margaux went swimming today in the pool at our apartment complex in Madrid after she got home from work.

Bad News: I didn’t.

Currently, I am in Salem, Witch Headquarters dog sitting for Elizabeth’s two basset hounds, aka billy goats who eat everything, Flash and Daisy.  It’s been a nice relaxing time, for the first time in 12 weeks, I am by myself.  I’ve read some books (that I accidentally bought at the Used Book Superstore, Flash was finished reading them), walked around a lot, visited Boston, looked at a lot of witch stuff and considered becoming Wiccan, eaten a little ice cream, fed the dogs and picked up a lot of poop. Note: Always make sure the poop bag has no holes. Lesson learned.

This is Flash giving me a stack of books. He’s so nice.

I’m looking forward to visiting my friends and family in DC, Philadelphia, NYC and Hartford in the next few weeks. I have had a blast playing with the kids, getting to know the in-law side of my family, eating blueberries with my grandma, riding the bus with my mom, dancing and karoke-ing, sleeping on various couches and eating lobstah way to many times.  All of these have been wonderful, irreplaceable moments that have made this the best summer ever. I will never forget this crazy period of time in our lives.

I can’t believe that this summer is almost over and that this visa process is not. To be honest, I am starting to get a little road weary and I just want to go home to Margaux so we can get on with our lives in Madrid. It was hard to say goodbye to Margaux at the airport last week because we don’t know when the next time we will see each other. A week? A month? More? Living out of a suitcase is only an adventure for so long.  Hey, the grass is always greener, right?

So here’s the deal.

Option A:  I am waiting here around the east coast for another week or two to see if my visa miraculously arrives, at which point I would drop everything and hop on the next flight back to my other half in Madrid.

Option B:  If Labor Day comes and goes and still no visa, I’ll be heading back to LA to wait some more, and do some odd jobs/see if I can get more clients/earn money.

Option C:  If the end of September  comes and all I get for my birthday is the finger from the Spanish Consulate, I will go get my passport from said consulate and go back to visit Madrid for another 3 months. While I am in Madrid, hopefully, someone will wave a magic wand and grant my visa. Of course, they don’t issue long-term visas IN the country of Spain, so I would have to come all the way back to LA to get the stupid stamp in my passport. In person. And then turn around and go back to Madrid.

If any of you happen to be Wiccan, or know some magic spells, could you please make a potion or something? What’s the spell that makes visas process faster? Since I’m in Salem, and there are disproportionate numbers of psychics and witches per capita, I might just consult a Psychic to see if she knows what is going on with this crazy process. To support local businesses, you know?

Neve Campbell is the best witch.

ES CRAZY

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Oceans Apart

  1. Oh no! This sucks Jean!!! Well, I don’t do any witchcraft but I’ll say a little prayer for you girls. Although I’m glad you are still in the states, I know how hard it must be on you to be away from your better half. Crossing my fingers that you get your visa soon!
    xoxoxo

Tell us what you think!

