EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

East Coast Couchsurfing

For the past 8 weeks, Margaux and I have been living out of our suitcases, and have slept in 9 different beds. We’ve visited what seems like a hundred friends and family, and met a few handfuls of new babies, swam in both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, and gotten at least 18 25 mosquito bites (Jean: 18 24, Margaux: 1).  This has been both an awesome and excruciating summer.  Going into this, we didn’t realize how stressful it can be to wait!

Here we are, on the East Coast for our third month of waiting out this crazy visa process.  This morning, Margaux purchased her one-way ticket back to Madrid, leaving me behind to wait (PATIENTLY) for my turn to join her.  The next two weeks are pretty packed full of fun parties, bbqs, and visits with family in Maine, Massachusetts and Rhode Island. My mom arrived last night to meet Margaux’s family for the first time and to visit family in Maine.

It seems that every moment is planned until Margaux’s flight on the 15th of August, which will mark the first time we have been apart since this whole journey began back in January.  It will be good for us to stretch our travel legs independently for a little while. Margaux has a stopover in Dublin for her first stab at solo travel in a foreign country. And since I am here, I have a little traveling to do of my own. 

But that’s where you come in.  Since I have no idea when or if my visa will be approved, I am floating free. So I am accepting ideas about what to do! I am planning on staying on the East Coast, my budget is limited, and at any moment, I need to be able to drop everything and go back to Spain. Maybe a little solo trip around New England and the Atlantic Region. I’m thinking, Boston, New York, DC, maybe Philadelphia. What is your favorite place on the East Coast?

Single Post Navigation

Tell us what you think!

