EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

Apartment update Part 2

So you may have been wondering, what happened with the boletin? Did Jean and Margaux ever get into their apartment?  Well, sorry for leaving you hanging, I’m sure you were just dying to know….. 

Long story short. We got the electricity guy to come in on Monday morning. He was a real nice guy who asked me why I was so happy to see him. I told him we had been waiting a week for electricity.  He said, “Why didn’t you just tell the company it was urgent? I’m in this neighborhood every day.” 

STOP. I didn’t even want to hear that. I pretended that I didn’t. I did tell the company it was urgent, but they didn’t care. If I would have had this guy’s number, I could have called him directly. It literally took him 2 minutes to switch on the lights. Oh Jesus. 

Anyway, we are much happier now that we are in our apartment. I realize that I like to have a little place that’s all mine to be in, I don’t feel so lost and disorganized. For the first time in about a month, we have a set up place, with our things in it. Albeit, not many things, but that’s fine with us. 

Our balcony looks out over the courtyard of this big complex and has a view of the mountains.  The other morning, we saw snow on the tops and we were happy. The morning and late evening are my favorite. We can see the sunset beautifully, and now that the time changed here, it sets around 9pm. There’s a bunch of kids always screaming in the courtyard, and those of you who know me know that is not a joy. But, I can tell they are having fun.  I can also hear lots of people laughing and talking when they have dinner and friends over in the evening. The best part is that we are on the third floor, higher than anyone else, so I can see everyone on their balcony and that’s how I learned the right way to hang up laundry to dry.  Which reminds me, having a washing machine is the best thing ever. It’s the first time in our lives that we’ve had our own!  What a luxury! 

I will post pictures of our place as soon as I can! We still have a little bit of IKEA stuff to assemble this weekend and we will be all set. 

Love to all, 

Jean

Single Post Navigation

Tell us what you think!

