EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

Team Winning**

It’s a little bit of a tradition for us to have a game night on the last night we are in an apartment. It’s really nice to have no furniture or clutter and have a handful of friends over to play a game on the floor with pizza and beer.  My team always wins**.

Tonight is our last night in San Diego, and I have to say I am quite bittersweet. I love this city, my friends, the food, the vibe. I’m going to miss 70 degrees and sunny, California burritos, hanging out with my buddies and riding my moped around town.  I feel so overwhelmed with the thought that this has been my little part of the world for the past 5 years, my mid-20s, my first real job, my first stab at real adult life. Now I am leaving this perfect little corner of the world to go somewhere I know nothing about. It freaks me out, and it makes me feel insanely alive.

Our apartment is empty, and I am writing this blog from the comfortable  deflating air mattress on the floor in our living room. It has been a crazy week, and I am exhausted. We have packed, repacked and weighed all of our suitcases. We have a few boxes to take to my mom’s house for storage and our 5 suitcases and which is now everything that we own!

Tomorrow, we drive up to my mom’s house where we will stay until our flight leaves on Saturday. We take a red-eye to DC where we have a long 10 hour layover (we got a hotel) and then we take a second red-eye to Madrid. We arrive in Madrid at 6am Monday morning. Jet lag to the max! 

We are so nervous and excited. We will miss you guys!

**Team Winning includes Carly and Yana and Daniela, and we totally kicked ass at Cranium tonight. Luis, Gaby and Margaux came in a close second.  The asterisks indicate two questionable calls by the judges and our win is contested by the other team.  But we won fair and square. 

Single Post Navigation

Tell us what you think!

