EsCrazy

The story of how I quit my job and went to play in Madrid

So it begins…

I will be employed for five more days. My heart is jumping around in my chest when I think about it. Since I was a teenager, I have worked full-time, the longest time I ever took a vacation was 10 days, twice.  That means I have had 20 days in my adult life that have been unstructured free-time. But even those 20 days were filled with pre-arranged activities designed to get the most fun out of a limited time off.  Not one of those days were spent lazing around in my pjs. 

In five more days, my life will change. I will have three weeks before we leave to sell everything we own and pack and get ready to move to Spain. 

This seems surreal. I always thought that moving abroad was something too hard for me. Here it is as a real thing, and I am terrified. I have no real plan except to go and figure it out once we get there. 

The best part of the whole experience so far has been challenging myself to face my fears. There are hundreds of excuses I could use to back out and not go. There are two reasons why I MUST do this. 1. I have always wanted to do this.  2. I spent the last 5 years of my life telling other young people to follow their dreams, even when your dream seems like a daunting undertaking. 

I’m not a hypocrite, so I am taking my own advice. My own advice ESCRAZY!

Brave Little Toaster

Single Post Navigation

Tell us what you think!

